Skip to Content

How to Add and Remove Extra Members on Netflix

How to Add and Remove Extra Members on Netflix

Netflix’s password crackdown has made it difficult to share accounts. However, it has allowed us to add extra profiles to our Netflix account.

Here is a guide on how to add extra members on Netflix. We will also learn to remove the extra members on Netflix.

Adding and removing members (video)

How to Add and Remove Extra Members on Netflix

Here is my YouTube video covering all the steps required to add and remove users.

How to add extra member on netflix (7 steps)

Step 01:

Account Menu on Netflix
Account Menu on Netflix

On the Netflix homepage on a desktop computer, hover over your profile icon on the top. Then click on the Account option.

Step 02:

Adding Extra Member on Netflix
Netflix Extra Member Settings

Find the Extra Members section on this screen and click the Buy an extra member slot button.

Step 03:

Inviting Members to Netflix
Inviting Members to Netflix Part 1

You will find the pricing information on this page. The benefits of adding an extra member are also listed. Click the Next button to continue.

Step 04:

Inviting Members to Netflix
Inviting Members to Netflix Part 2

This screen shows the old monthly price, new plan cost, and next billing date. Clicking the Start extra member button will start charging you extra.

Step 05:

Inviting Members to Netflix
Inviting Members to Netflix Part 3

It’s time to add the extra member details. Hit the Next button to add the required information.

Step 06:

Inviting Members to Netflix
Inviting Members to Netflix Part 4

On this screen, put in their name. It can be any name. Their email address so they can get the invitation. Also, your name in the last field to help them see who has invited them.

Step 07:

Inviting Members to Netflix Part 5
Inviting Members to Netflix Part 5

Netflix asks whether you want to give them one of the existing profiles or let them create a new one. After clicking the Next button, you will see the success screen.

The user must accept this invitation from their email. You will see a notification in your account area until the invitation is pending.

Viewing extra members

Seeing Extra Members on Netflix
Seeing Extra Members on Netflix

You can see all the extra members in the Account area. The notification of a pending request is also displayed here.

How to Cancel extra member on Netflix (2 steps)

Step 01:

Managing Extra Members on Netflix
Managing Extra Members on Netflix

Hover over the profile on the homepage and click on Account. On the account screen, click the Manage extra members button.

Step 02:

Removing Extra Members from Netflix
Removing Extra Members from Netflix

You must understand the two buttons here. The Cancel invitation button will cancel the current invitation, but Netflix will keep charging you.

With this option, you may be able to add a different member.

To cancel this extra member, click Cancel slot, which will remove the member and stop charging you.

The member will still have access to Netflix until the next billing period. They will get an email about this decision.

Things you should know

Netflix charges money for each member you add. Also, depending on your plan, there is a limit on how many you can add.

Furthermore, Netflix may not show existing profiles while transferring. Some of my YouTube viewers have complained about that. I suggest creating a new profile until we have a better solution.

Sharon Gerak

Friday 7th of June 2024

Eliminate extra member